Key takeaways
- Four of the five apps have a real free tier: MyFitnessPal, Lose It!, Cronometer, YAZIO. MacroFactor has a trial only.
- MyFitnessPal and YAZIO both list "ad-free" as a paid feature, so their free tiers carry ads.
- MyFitnessPal, Lose It! and YAZIO keep macronutrients or detailed nutrients for the paid tier. Cronometer's free tier tracks up to 84 nutrients.
- Lose It! keeps its barcode and food scanner free. MyFitnessPal keeps voice logging for its top tier.
- Annual paid tiers run from $47.90, YAZIO's list price, to $79.99 on the App Store; MyFitnessPal's second tier, Premium+, is $99.99.
What does every free calorie tracker include?
Every free tier we read gives the same three things, and they are genuinely free at MyFitnessPal, Lose It!, Cronometer and YAZIO. MacroFactor is the exception: it has no free plan, only a trial.
- A food diary you fill by hand, meal by meal.
- A searchable food database, crowd-sourced, the one the reviews complain about.
- A running total for the day against a calorie goal.
That is the product that made the category. What differs is everything around those three things, and the pattern is the same at three of the four: the features people say they need most, macronutrients per meal and a diary without an ad between two entries, are the ones the free tier is built to withhold, so that the free tier can sell the paid one.
None of that is hidden. Each seller says it on its own page, and that is where every line below comes from.
What does each app put behind the paywall?
Read on each seller's own page or help centre on 14 September 2026; the App Store listing gives the prices.
| App | Free tier includes | Paid tier is needed for | Ads on free? |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyFitnessPal | Diary, database, daily goal, macros in grams and percent, macro goals by percent, 7-day trial of Premium | "Custom macros and goals" in grams (Premium), "ad-free logging" (Premium), "voice logging and multi-day logging" (Premium+) | Yes: "ad-free logging experience" is a Premium feature |
| Lose It! | "Personalized weight loss plan", logging from a 32-million-item database, Apple Health and Google Fit sync, community, "Smart Camera" barcode and food scanning, device and scale sync | Macronutrients, water, blood pressure and measurements ("Advanced Tracking"), custom meal sections and pre-logging, insights, "streaks" and badges | Not stated on the page |
| Cronometer | Foods, exercise, biometrics, notes, up to 84 nutrients | Reports, charts, insights over any period ("Gold") | Not stated on the page |
| YAZIO | The diary | AI photo logging, detailed nutrients (fatty acids, fibre, sugar, salt, vitamins, minerals), recipes, grocery lists, activity sync, all fasting plans, statistics beyond the recent period, renaming meal categories, weekend calories, ad-free | Yes: "ad-free experience" is a PRO feature |
| MacroFactor | No free tier; a free trial | Everything | No free tier |
Bottom line: at three of the four apps with a free tier, the ads or part of the macronutrient tools are what the paid tier removes; Cronometer is the exception, and MacroFactor has no free tier to compare.
Two things stand out in that table.
- "Free" means something different at each app. Cronometer's free plan tracks up to 84 nutrients, which Lose It! and YAZIO sell as a paid feature; YAZIO's free plan is the diary and little else.
- The paid feature most often named is not a luxury. Macronutrients are the objection that comes back in the reviews ("barcode scanning and macro goals moved behind Premium", read 4 September 2026), and MyFitnessPal, Lose It! and YAZIO all charge for them or for their detail.
Where does free stop being free?
The community's complaints about free tiers are not about the price. They are about what the free tier does while you use it.
A reviewer describing a full-screen ad for sweets playing while they tried to log lunch is one of the lines that comes back in the MyFitnessPal reviews on the App Store and Trustpilot, read 4 September 2026; the "Go Premium" prompt inside every card is the other.
The research says logging is what people abandon: about 23 minutes a day in the first month of a 2019 trial by Harvey, Krukowski, Priest and West, published in Obesity, and fewer than half of the participants in two six-month trials run by Gabrielle Turner-McGrievy's team still recording after ten weeks. An ad between two entries adds to that time; that part is our reading, not the trial's.
A free plan that costs nothing in money can still cost something else: the ads, the macros behind a paywall, or the minutes each entry takes.
So the honest question is not "which tracker is free" but "what does free cost me here":
- Time. An ad between two entries, four times a day, for months.
- The numbers you wanted. Macros per meal are the first thing three of the four withhold.
- The upgrade pressure. A free tier exists to convert; the card, the banner and the locked icon are its job.
- The database. The complaint about ten entries for one food comes from paying and free users alike: "Same food, ten results, ten calorie counts" (reviews of MyFitnessPal, read 4 September 2026).
How much do the paid tiers cost?
From the App Store listings, in US dollars, on 14 September 2026. MacroFactor and YAZIO are taken apart in their own comparison, and Noom is priced as a programme rather than as a diary, which is why it is not in this table. Sellers change these often and run promotions, and a store listing depends on the country and the account it is read from, so a price seen elsewhere may differ from the one above.
| App | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyFitnessPal Premium | $19.99 | $79.99 | Premium+ above it |
| Lose It! Premium | from $9.99 | $79.99 | Lifetime $49.99–$59.99, the only lifetime plan among the five compared here |
| Cronometer Gold | $10.99 | $59.99 | |
| MacroFactor | $11.99 | $71.99 | Six months $47.99; a $59.99 annual and a $9.99 monthly also listed; no free tier |
| YAZIO PRO | from $11.90 | $47.90 list, $23.90 promotional | Promotional price shown on the day read; no end date given |
Bottom line: annual to annual, four of the five sit between $59.99 and $79.99; only YAZIO's list price is lower, and only MyFitnessPal sells a tier above.
At MyFitnessPal, Cronometer, MacroFactor and YAZIO the annual saves between 50 and 67 percent against twelve months, so the monthly exists to make the annual read as a bargain; Lose It!'s annual saves about a third.
Annual to annual, three of the four with a free tier sit between $59.99 and $79.99; YAZIO is the outlier at $47.90 list.
What changes when your diary has no ads or locked features?
IZeat is the calorie tracker inside ChatGPT, Claude or any other assistant. Tell the assistant you already use what you ate instead of searching for foods and entering them one by one. It has no free tier. The table above says why that choice was made: at three of the four free plans read, the ads or the paid tier hold back something the diary needs, macros or quiet. What IZeat sells is a diary designed to be easier to keep, so the goal you count for, less weight or more muscle, is not lost to the counting. The trial comes first, without a card, on your own meals.
Tuesday, 12:40. You tell your assistant: "Lunch was 180 g of chicken breast, grilled with no oil, 150 g of cooked rice and a 125 g plain yoghurt." IZeat returns the receipt: three rows with their calories, protein, carbohydrate and fat and where each item's numbers came from, the meal total, and what is left of the day against the target you chose. Nothing stood between the sentence and the record: no ad, no macro behind a paywall, no upgrade banner. At 18:00 you ask what to make with the eggs and the spinach in the fridge; the assistant reads the day IZeat holds and proposes something that fits what is left; IZeat records only what you then say you ate.
- The macros are there from the first meal. Protein, carbohydrate and fat on every item and every meal, with their source, not behind a paid tier; in the table above, that is what two of the four free plans keep back.
- A nutrition label is a photo, not a scanner. The assistant reads the label you photograph, says what the units mean, can flag a kJ figure that does not fit the macros, and repeats the values before anything is recorded, so you can spot a misread; you then say how much of the product you ate, and IZeat scales the figures to it.
- Your data leaves with you. The whole record as CSV or JSON, with one download for each format, and account deletion you do yourself.
The prices are on the price card, and the same figures are in the account page the day you sign up.
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to the questions people type, each one sourced above.
Is MyFitnessPal free?
Yes, with ads: the diary and the three macros are free, gram macro goals are Premium at $19.99 a month or $79.99 a year, voice logging is Premium+, by its own pages read in September 2026, and a 7-day trial of Premium exists for anyone who never redeemed one. The full answer, tier by tier and with what "works" means for a food diary, is in Is MyFitnessPal free, and does it work?.
Is Lose It! free?
Yes. Lose It! Basic includes the diary, its 32-million-item database, Apple Health and Google Fit sync, the community, and the "Smart Camera" that scans barcodes and food. Macronutrients, water, measurements, custom meal sections, pre-logging and insights need Premium: $79.99 a year, or a lifetime licence at $49.99 to $59.99 on the App Store, read on 14 September 2026. Whether Basic carries ads is not stated on Lose It!'s page.
Is Cronometer free?
Yes, and its free tier is the widest of the five. Cronometer's own page lists Basic at $0 with foods, exercise, biometrics, notes and up to 84 nutrients tracked, macronutrients included. Gold, $10.99 a month or $59.99 a year on the App Store, adds reports, charts and insights over any period. The free tier carries third-party ads: Cronometer's own blog says Gold gets "rid of the 3rd party advertisements", read on 15 September 2026.
Is MacroFactor free?
No. MacroFactor has no free tier at all: its site offers a free trial and nothing else below the paid plan. On the App Store, read on 14 September 2026, the plans are $11.99 a month, $47.99 for six months or $71.99 a year, with a $59.99 annual and a $9.99 monthly also listed. It is the only app of the five where "free" means the trial and nothing after it.
Is YAZIO free?
Yes, with ads: YAZIO's help centre lists "ad-free experience" as a PRO feature. Free is the diary; PRO adds AI photo logging, detailed nutrients, the recipe database, grocery lists, all fasting plans, statistics beyond the recent period and renaming meal categories. PRO is $47.90 a year list on the App Store, with a $23.90 promotion shown that day and no end date given, read on 14 September 2026.
Do free calorie counters have ads?
Two of the four with a free tier say so on their own pages: MyFitnessPal lists "ad-free logging experience" under Premium and YAZIO lists "ad-free experience" under PRO, so both free tiers carry ads. Lose It! does not state it either way on the page we read; Cronometer's Gold page, read 15 September 2026, lists an "ad-free experience" among what Gold adds, and its own blog says Gold removes third-party ads, so its free version carries them. IZeat has no ads at any price and no free tier, because the customer is the only one paying.
Which calorie tracker is free without ads?
None of the five says "free and ad-free" on its own page. Cronometer's free tier is the widest, and its Gold page and its own blog say Gold removes third-party ads; Lose It!'s page does not say; MyFitnessPal and YAZIO both list "ad-free" as a paid feature. If no ads is the condition, the honest answer is a paid plan, which is why IZeat has no free tier and no ads: a trial without a card, then one price.
Is there a free calorie tracker with a barcode scanner?
Lose It! keeps its "Smart Camera", which scans barcodes and food, in the free Basic plan, according to its own page. MyFitnessPal moved barcode scanning behind Premium, the complaint the reviews name most. IZeat has no scanner: you photograph the label or say the values, the assistant reads them back with their units so you can spot a misread, and the item is recorded with the label as source. A barcode retrieves a product record; whether it matches the pack in your hand is a separate question the assistant can help settle.
Which free calorie tracker shows macros?
Cronometer's free tier tracks up to 84 nutrients, macronutrients included, according to its own page. MyFitnessPal's free version shows protein, carbohydrate and fat and lets you set macro goals by percentage, according to its help page; "custom macros and goals" in grams are Premium. Lose It! keeps macronutrients for Premium, and YAZIO keeps detailed nutrients for PRO. IZeat shows protein, carbohydrate and fat on every item and every meal from the first day, with the source on each item, because there is no tier to keep them for.
How much does a calorie tracker cost per year?
On the App Store on 14 September 2026: MyFitnessPal Premium $79.99, Lose It! Premium $79.99, MacroFactor $71.99, Cronometer Gold $59.99, YAZIO PRO $47.90 list and $23.90 on the promotion shown that day, with no end date given. Monthly plans run from $9.99 to $19.99 and are priced so the annual reads as a bargain. IZeat's prices are on the plan card, in euros, with a trial without a card first.
Does IZeat have a free trial?
Yes: a trial without a card, from the first use of the account, long enough to say a week of meals and read the day card. There is no free tier after it and no ads during it; the trial is the whole product, not a cut-down one. Then a monthly or a yearly plan, cancelled in one click from the account page, with the record exportable whole at any time.
Why doesn't IZeat have a free plan?
Because a free plan is paid for by ads or by the paid tier it exists to sell, and both make the diary worse to keep. IZeat sells one thing, the removal of the entry screen: you say what you ate to the assistant you already use and it is logged with its source. A trial without a card is how you see whether that is worth paying for; there is nothing to withhold after it.